My Beautiful Wickedness


Great day for a long walk.
February 23, 2009, 6:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Kid is still off school, so after I blew minds up with my digested brilliance re: American Revolution, I took her out to the local nature preserve and we took a long cold windy hike. In retrospect, she probably wishes that she had actually put on the snowpants that I asked her to bring along, but I’m the kind of mother who bites her tongue and lets a kid figure out (short of frostbite) that she needs to use better judgment. Next time it won’t be an issue.

There were a lot of tracks, but few critters. We saw nests, but only heard crows and the whistle of a few hawks warning each other off. We could see all the mountain ranges in the area, smell the pine, and hear the ice creak and crunch as we shattered it.

To top it off, we had hot cocoa mit schlag and took funny pictures of each other with creamy mustaches. Yesterday, I was ready to strangle her for being a smartass and today, I am reminded that she’s really a pretty fun kid.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

“Yesterday, I was ready to strangle her for being a smartass and today, I am reminded that she’s really a pretty fun kid.”

Welcome to the next 10 years.

Comment by Slartibartfast




Leave a Reply

