My Beautiful Wickedness


Saturday. Sunshine.
February 21, 2009, 9:32 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

S would have been an easier letter.

It’s been a busy week and with the exception of a stack of grading that will require a ladder and perhaps some libations to surmount, I think I’ve made it through to a weekend that promises more peace.

I missed Feel Good Friday, but I did eventually feel good. After a day that felt like I was walking uphill and being dashed by buckets of icewater periodicaly, I got to go to an evening concert over at the new Arts Center a block from my house. Our music faculty are really good and it always lifts me up to see them perform. The performance was of French impressionist music and while their performances are not on the web yet, here’s o one of the movements from a flute work by Gaubert. I actually liked the first movement better, but due to the vagaries of the internet, you get what you get. Here’s the Introduction and Allegro by Ravel that I loved so much that if I were king, the musicians would have had to play it again. Ms. Caldicott’s harp was gorgeous and so was the music she made on it. I have been in love with the harp since seeing my first live classical performance.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

bridgett:

That “s” thing can cut both ways. Snow, sleet, shi–well, you know.

But, hey, it’s the weekend. I went to a great concert (Van Norstrand Brothers Band) last night at our funky little Oswego Music Hall and I’m going to the OMH’s annual members’ meeting, today, which will feature food, bevvies, spontaneous outbursts of good and not so good music and a slide show that I’ve put together of abut 20 acts that have played there in the last couple of years. Sweeeeeeeeeeeeet!

Comment by democommie

Thanks for linking to the Allegro…I love it. 🙂

Comment by imfunny2




Leave a Reply

