My Beautiful Wickedness


Blogger meet-up!
December 5, 2008, 8:05 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Squee! Just found out this morning that I’m going to meet Scott from Lawyers, Guns, and Money a little later today. Too cool.

Edited to add: And he’s pretty much exactly like I thought he was going to be. Very articulate, knew his shit, in general intellectually impressive. We were in one of those situations where it’s hard to be relaxed and humorous and he still managed to make some jokes while hard-charging through a presentation.

Oddly though, given my stereotypical ideas about Canadians (which I didn’t know I had), I was surprised by his booming voice. I thought that Canadians were meek and retiring sorts!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

He must be a Zevon fan.

Comment by democommie

Yep. But aren’t we all?

Comment by bridgett

The cattle all have brucellosis
We’ll get through somehow

Comment by Nick Dupree

bridgett:

You too, really? Coolio; I knew I liked the cut of your jib, already, but this makes it even more likable! I recommend his version of “Werewolves of London” from “Stand In The Fire” or the live version of “Roland The Headless Thompson Gunner” which he performed in Denmark to a boisterous, appreciative audience.

Comment by democommie

I used to live near the Dew Drop Inn he references in “Play It All Night Long”.
Love Warren, have all his stuff.

Comment by Nick Dupree

Waiting for Kat Coble to drop by…she’s another huge fan (all her blog categories are Zevon lyrics, including “the cattle all have brucellosis”).

Comment by bridgett

I watched the MTV (or maybe it was VH1) special that aired it a day or two after Warren passed and was amazed at the starkness and the intimacy of the work. At one point Warren was trying to get something on tape and the engineer said that perhaps they should try it again the next day when Warren might be feeling better. Warren’s reply, as was typical of him, was along the lines of, “Let’s do it now. I won’t be feeling better tomorrow.” and they worked it out.

I was given an uncorrected proof of “The Dirty Life and Times of Warren Zevon” (written by his wife, Cynthia(?) and was shocked by some of what I read. He was a twisted piece of work, but a musical genius. I dutifully passed the book along to a friend, the guy who first played “Werewolves of London” on the piano for me.

Comment by democommie




Leave a Reply

