My Beautiful Wickedness


Playing catch-up
October 17, 2008, 11:36 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

And I don’t mean Senator McCain this time…

This week has been a very busy one for me. I have committed to a more intense workout schedule than I had been doing and so that’s taking up a little more time. I’ve got some projects that I’m working on that are entering “push” phases, so that’s always surprisingly time-consuming. Kid’s dance schedule is heating up, as it is starting to dawn on everyone that her first competition is now less than five months away and none of her routines are completely choreographed. As her teachers start to (quietly, and never in front of her) freak a little, I’m doing a lot more driving back and forth to the studio and supervising more practices at home. With so much baseball on TV, I find that I’m shorting myself on sleep a little, so I’m feeling a little draggy from the moment I wake up. Cumulatively, that’s making me feel ever more behind.

Tuesday, I finally went and got my bloodwork done. No results yet. On Wednesday, Kid went on her first major field trip, down to the Bronx Zoo — it was fabulous and maybe if I get very energetic later tonight, I’ll share some pics. But anyhow, I was planning that trip and then chaperoning a group of eight giggling girls through the Bronx. Fun, sure, but tiring too. Yesterday, it was both weigh-in day and mammogram day. I’ll find out in a week or two about my boobs (not worried, really) and the grand total of weight loss for the last six weeks is 15 pounds. I’m a little behind where I thought I’d be, but overall, I’m happy with the gains in fitness and well-being and I don’t feel like stopping or persecuted by my own choices, so it’s all good.

Anyhow, today is our official “must get off the crazy too much running around merry-go-round.” John and I are going out to nearby Japanese restaurant for lunch, where we’ll get our political freak on, and then we’ll go pick up a couple of movies from the local library. After we pick Kid up from school, off go the computers, the video games, the phone…we’re just going to cook at home, chill out, and maybe watch a funny movie over a bowl of popcorn. I think everyone needs to unwind.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I spent 7 years living a short walk from the Bronx Zoo and the Botanical Garden. They rock. Congratulations on your daughter’s first visit to the zoo — I’m sure she must have enjoyed it no end.

Comment by nm

Wow, what a neat place. The Bronx is nothing like what I thought it would be. I had a late 1970s idea of the South Bronx and the Bronx Zoo was wonderful. The architecture was so cool that I felt like I was just walking around taking pictures of the friezes on the buildings rather than looking at the animals. It’s been really well-maintained over the years, too, which was not what I expected. I was in Cleveland during the down years at the zoo and I guess I expected a lot of bedraggled exhibits, but not so.

Now I really want to go back and tour the Botanical Gardens. If I had any idea how easy it was to get there, I would have gone years ago.

Comment by bridgett

Well, next time you go, drive east on Pelham Parkway (the road that runs in between the Zoo and the Botanical Garden), and when you just pass the Botanical Garden, on the left, that’s the building I used to live in. All the ducks from the Bronx River would fly out onto our block during rainstorms, and once it dried off there they would be, waddling around and looking stupid and lost. I miss that place.

The zoo is beautiful, isn’t it? All those Beaux Arts buildings, the butterfly tent (was it still up when you were there?) and all. The truth is, for most of the ’70s and ’80s it was maintained properly but lagged behind the St. Louis Zoo and the San Diego Zoo in innovation, especially in creating large free range habitat areas. But by the mid ’90s they were catching back up and putting in some wonderful stuff. I grew up not too far from the St. Louis Zoo, too, so I was mostly very zoo-lucky until I moved to Nashville.

Comment by nm




Leave a Reply

