My Beautiful Wickedness


How I spent my weekend
October 6, 2008, 10:29 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Sorry for dropping out of view like that, but it was a nice weekend here, so we were outdoors a lot. We went for a walk around the neighborhood and picked up colorful leaves to string — this has been a family tradition of ours since Kid was a wee thing — and now we’ve got some fall color inside. I also got busy pulling grapevine and sweet potato vine off the wood fence between me and my neighbor and Kid — who has shown a real interest in medicinal herbs and woodlore and outdoorsy crafts of late, wanted to do something with the pile of grapevine. I’d never made a grapevine wreath, but I figured it couldn’t be that hard, so I made a little hoop out of some really limber vine and then she wove the rest. We decorated it with some leaves.

The pinecones and magnolias on the mantle all come from different special places. The magnolias come from the Old Miss campus, where John taught. The little pinecones come from my parents’ first Christmas tree in Avon, one that they then planted and that grew up to be a forty-foot behemoth by the time their house was demolished. The biggest pinecone is from John’s parents’ house. The one on its side is from Chloe’s schoolyard and more specifically from the tree that she plays under at recess time. This display used to have some apples from a local orchard but we ate them. Now there are just a few sitting in my root bowl on the table.

I am, like anyone else with half a brain, worried about what comes next financially speaking. When I talked to my mom, she recalled that Kentucky had been in “hard times” as early as 1927, but it wasn’t until Mr. Rockefeller lost money that anyone in power was willing to call it a Depression. I hesitate to make soft historical parallels, because if I did, my temptation would be to think that this one would be worse in many ways. Yes, we all have a lot of nice toys and it might be nice to have a chance to step back and appreciate what you have without grasping for more. However, you have many more people in the US without access to land and people do have to eat. Family members with farms have let it be generally known that those of us in the cities are welcome to come back home if we need to. We’re filling up our Mason Jars, dialing back the thermostat, seeing if we can make that coat last another year. I

It’s a hard atmosphere in which to raise a kid. I hope my strategy of teaching her to create beauty whereever she goes will sustain her (and us) through this upcoming mess.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey. Couldn’t find an email addy here so I am using this space to make an apology of sorts. Looking back, my wtf comment over at TCP was out of exasperation with this idea that I go running around spouting “new age” feel good stuff and heaping that upon suffering people. I hoped to be clear that my take on B’s post was to revert back to some fundamental beliefs that I hold dear. But it read more like anger at you, and, well, it wasn’t. Part of was aimed toward NM, who seems to have decided to be contrary with me 24/7. It gets old. Anyway, no anger meant, I hope we are cool. Be well.

Comment by Mr. Mack

No problem.

Comment by bridgett

I guess it would be contrary of me to point out that I rarely feel contrary to Mack.

Comment by nm




Leave a Reply

