My Beautiful Wickedness


She’s beautiful!
September 29, 2008, 10:44 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

We bought this print for over our piano. It looks really lovely. There’s a sentimental story behind this selection. It was displayed in a shop window in Iowa City when we were first dating. We both liked it a lot and would stop on the sidewalk to look at it, but it was way too expensive for us at the time. How many times in the last few weeks have I been struck with the thought that I am now enjoying a life that felt foolish to dare to hope for back then.

Painted by Lord Frederic Leighton, 1895

Painted by Lord Frederic Leighton, 1895

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Bridgett:

Nice art! You went to school in Iowa City?

Comment by democommie

Yes, I am a Hawkeye. I spent 14 of the best years of my life in grad school, maybe longer.

Comment by bridgett

Bridgett:

I spent the first third of my life in Omaha and so am genetically incapable of rooting for any team but the ‘skers. I’ve got a feeling they’re going to suck AGAIN this year.

Comment by democommie




Leave a Reply

