My Beautiful Wickedness


Tests, tests, and more tests.
September 8, 2008, 12:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

And it is always so. I delay going to the doctor until I really really know that something is wrong with me and then, SURPRISE, something’s wrong and they’re going to test and test and test me four ways to Sunday just to get a bead on what they think is going on.

The good news? I have great blood pressure — like 100/60, so that’s an upbeat note at which to start. Possibilities and conclusions? Well, PCOS is one possibility that they are investigating. I fit the usual profile, but there’s some deviations so I have to have an ultrasound thingie next month to have a look around my innards. I’m obese and I weigh more than I’ve ever weighed in my life (about twenty pounds more than I realized), so she talked up the “you know, it would be good if you could get a little more active” health benefits. My blood sugar was high so I need a gluc test — I think I probably am diabetic, though I’ve been resisting that diagnosis because I know it’s going to change my life and I honestly do think sometimes that I would rather lose some toes than have to go without baked goods for the rest of my life. (How is that for lousy attitude? Just keeping it real, folks.) They want to do a bunch of bloodwork to rule out or in other things to explain the constellation of symptoms. I need a mammogram. I need a physical. I need a multi-vitamin with iron. I need to talk over some things privately with my husband to get his opinion and I need to do some research.

The visit itself was low-stress. She’s good, cheerful without being chirpy, neither talking over my head nor making me feel like the chump that I am for delaying my own care. She kept the actual speculum and stirrups part of it down to a minimum and although it was a little youchy (not anyone’s favorite thing to do, I guess), I survived.

And then I went out and celebrated by buying some quarter-round and another gallon of ceiling paint. I painted another radiator yesterday — down to two left to go before we’ve gotten them all — while John painted carefully around the new track lighting. (Always looking for new and interesting ways to electrocute himself…) Today, we finish the ceiling and begin the trim. Later this week, we’ll primer out. My goal is to be able to have the color well underway by the end of the weekend. This room is going to be a pale orange color, sitting between a light orange-yellow library and the riding hood red dance studio. The curtains in both the library and the living room are the riding hood color, as is the light fixture in the library, so it’s all tied together.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well, if it turns out to be PCOS, I can be your… shit, since I wasn’t in a sorority, I don’t know what they call them–the chick who teaches you all the songs and stuff. I can be that for you.

As for the diabetes stuff, holy shit. But the thing to keep in mind is that a lot of PCOS folks have an insulin disorder, so it may be something along those lines. That’s the boat I’m in and the treatment has been relatively painless. And no one’s told me to give up baked goods.

Comment by Aunt B.

All hail the power of feminist blogging. I would never have gotten myself checked out if not for your diagnosis and your talking about your symptoms. I would be delighted to have you as my PCOS big sister. That’s what the person who mentors you into the rituals of the sorority is called. (At least that’s what it’s called when I read books about them because my undergrad campus didn’t have sororities — we forthrightly called them drinking clubs.)

I am hoping that the insulin problem is from PCOS. Naturally, I got home too late from my Home Depot run and buying groceries to make any of the appointments that I have to make or do any research on IUDs or fallopian implants. I haven’t really been keeping up on long-term birth control developments, but I’m 44 and not planning to become pregnant again so maybe I should think more carefully about it.

Comment by bridgett

I think the PCOS people call themselves “cysters”.

FWIW, you can have diabetes and still eat baked goods–it’s a common misconception. (You shouldn’t but you can if you’re smart about it.)

The old thinking about diabetes is finally being revisited by medicine and quashed. It’s no longer called “sugar diabetes”, for instance. They realise the problem is larger than eating sugar.

FWIW I don’t know your symptoms but from the sounds of things it wouldn’t be out of line for you to have PCOs or “pre-diabetes”. Fifteen years ago what is now called a high insulin level was considered normal. In an effort to exclude more people for “pre-existing conditions” the insurance companies have supported and encouraged the downward definition of diabetes.

Comment by Katherine Coble




Leave a Reply

