My Beautiful Wickedness


So, Palin’s older daughter is knocked up.
September 1, 2008, 1:13 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So what? I have plenty of aunts, cousins, second cousins, and friends who have conceived before marriage. Some have never married. BFD. They don’t merit shaming but nobody hands them a prize, either. Shit happens.

I know there will be a lot of “abstinence only, huh?” gleeful hand-rubbing, but dammit, just quit it. If the governor’s daughter, presumably getting the best high school education that Alaska can hand out, with a self-labeled feminist for a mother, presumably with a superior access to birth control than (for example) the quarter-million Alaskan women that live outside the three major cities still gets pregnant, then we have to assume that she really really wants to be pregnant and that the rest of her family is going to be cool with that.

I know the campaign hopes to play this as “could happen to any family.” The only thing that makes the Palin family any different from my family (kid deployed to Iraq, pregnant teen daughter, disabled son) is that little bit about being a multiple home-owning millionaire state governor potentially second in line to the President. I bet that Bristol Palin and her baby will never want for health care, her soon-to-be husband Levi will never lack for a job, their education won’t have to be interrupted or ended because of her pregnancy… that sort of stuff. Except for those little things, the Palin family is…you know, exactly like us.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ve been too busy fretting over my parents today (many of those tornado warnings associated with Gustav were in their area) to notice this.

You know, I’m quite disappointed in a lot of people I thought were human beings first, but apparently politics comes first.

I give up.

Comment by Slartibartfast

So, are your parents ok then? Was I right in concluding that while it’s a rip-snorter, it’s not a Katrina-grade hurricane?

Now, about your chagrin at mean politics – am I on that list? I hope I wrote that clearly enough to convey that I think that a girl getting pregnant before she’s married is a big STFU issue, politically speaking. I assume Bristol may not have wanted to be pregnant, but has decided she will be a mother. Lots of people in that situation…it’s not a big “aHA!” for me. Good luck with that.

On the other hand, she’ll have the blessings and advantages that many girls lack, so to make her an Everygirl and argue “and it’s just that easy” is wrong. Her particular situation, like Jamie Spears’ pregnancy, gives her options that other less fortunate women lack. So the RNC’s “this is just something that happens to families” (in essence transforming the private family event to a public political message) is disingenuous. When it happens to my family, the girl drops out of high school and works the night shift at Walmart and goes on foodstamps. When it happens to the Palin family, the girl gets a tutor and a nanny.

I’m sorry if pointing that out puts me on your shit list.

Comment by bridgett

And another thing, now that I went away and thought about the rights and wrongs of the thing.

Agreed that it sucks to be Bristol Palin in the hard glare of the national smear machine.

HOWEVER, why is it all “this is a private thing for their family to deal with” when it’s Governor Palin’s family and “your kid’s pregnancy is our business because our religious beliefs says it should be and we’ll decide what you can and can’t do as a consequence” when it’s anyone else’s kid? You can’t have it both ways — you’re either in the business of nosing into women’s private health concerns or you’re out.

We all have the things that exasperate us. That exasperates me and it’s worth commenting on. Be mad if you have to be, but you know you’re always welcome here.

Comment by bridgett

Bridgett:

It is unfortunate that Bristol Palin and her fiancee are not being left alone. However, given her mother’s political ambitions and apparent willingness to use her family as a campaign tool it’s gonna happen. Of course, now the Base will be able to bleat more about the “Liberal Media” like Fox and New York Newsday.

Comment by democommie

I know I know, too much has been said already…but I’m the hardest person in the world to shut up…

I don’t think access to birth control factors in here; It is my understanding that the governor of Alaska opposes birth control.

Comment by imfunny2

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Comment by sandrar




Leave a Reply

