My Beautiful Wickedness


Quiet (or at least sedate) evening at home
September 1, 2008, 7:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

We had to unplug our tv, maybe for the duration of the living room do-over (for the blow-by-blow, read the blog of the guy who is doing most of the work on this one…) and so we’re digging in to the big pile of books that we got this afternoon. Kid’s already finished her first book (one of the Sisters Grimm series) and is deep into the second one (Warriorcats, a series that I think is stupid but I keep telling myself that it’s not written with me in mind). She is also multi-tasking, reading a chapter and then playing with her Flower Fairy paper dolls and then reading another chapter. One of the books came with something guaranteed to fascinate a kid — and so it did: tracing paper. Just a couple of sheets, but it’s already been played with and handled and wrapped around a comb for a homemade kazoo and whatall…kids like simple things.

John’s tired of caulking and is settled on the couch reading some Evelyn Waugh. Vile Bodies, I think. I’m trying to decide on what to read next — it’s either reread Wallace Stegner’s Crossing to Safety or start in with Salman Rushdie’s Enchantress of Florence. Last week, I finished the new David Sedaris collection and a bunch of other essay books in that vein, none of which were as funny as Sedaris. I caught up on my magazine reading earlier today (yay for long weekends) and I printed out a bunch of photos for scrapbooking, but I didn’t actually compose any of the pages. Still, the photos are in labeled envelopes, Kid and I have talked about how she wants to lay out the pages, and so all that is left is turning the art inside our heads into craft with our hands.

And what’s the background music to all this domestic bliss? Some Bach cello perhaps? The mellifluous strains of pipe organs breezing and wheezing subtonally? Nope.

ELO, baby. ELO.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

