My Beautiful Wickedness


The perfect age…
August 5, 2008, 4:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It appears that the US population believes that women reach their peak of leadership ability at 43.

I might use that when I write my resignation letter stepping down as head of Women’s Studies. The truth is that I have limited emotional energy and I have reluctantly concluded that I can better serve my own talents and feminist aims by not continuing to slam my head against the wall in an institutional structure that rewards territorialism and intellectual inertia. We have a new dean in my school and I’m confident that she and the new chair of WS will be able to learn the ropes together.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Then I’m peaking right now? Who knew. Guess I should take my shower and lead something.

Comment by Penny

You’ve been beaten and bruised so much in the short time I’ve been here. I’m amazed at your strength!

Comment by Angela Gordon

Shit. I’m fifteen years past my prime–and the wrong gender, to boot!

Comment by democommie

Sometimes being a good leader includes knowing when to go. The “behind-the-scenes” acrimony was worse than what was offered for public consumption and while that was admittedly awfully stressful, it did help to clarify exactly where we stood on campus. I think there was a fair measure of self-delusion among our committee members about the level of support we had and…well, now we know the score. Having been the person on the receiving end of the ass-kicking, I need to get out of the way so that I’m not the “face” of the problem and a distraction to its resolution.

Comment by bridgett




Leave a Reply

