My Beautiful Wickedness


I love the new hallway so much I about can’t stand it!
July 10, 2008, 10:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s finally all done, except for me finishing the paint job on the china cabinet and nailing the last little bit of quarter-round down. Ah…it’s beautiful. The submarine grey has been replaced by a cheerful pale yellow (with a hint of orange). We hung an modern pendant lamp with Italian glass shades that cast yellow and orange glow upwards and clean light downward onto the newly painted stairs. The built-in bookcase has been reclaimed, as has the mantlepiece. It’s just…wow. It makes me proud to know that this will be the first thing that people see when they walk into our house. It’s even more awesome to think that the whole downstairs (except the kitchen, which will have to wait until next year, I guess) will be equally beautiful within the next six weeks.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Pictures! So that garret-dwelling grad students with awful house lust can live vicariously!

Comment by Krista

I’ll see what I can do. First I have to finish peeling blue masking tape off every surface and removing the “stained glass” paint from the perfectly lovely entryway window where the tacky former owners daubed it with neon yellow and green…because nothing goes with submarine grey like the colors of the Green Bay Packers….

Comment by bridgett

I can’t wait to see it!

Comment by patti




Leave a Reply

