My Beautiful Wickedness


Short thoughts about today’s news stories
July 8, 2008, 10:29 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Does the star in the new WalMart logo remind anyone else of a sphincter? I think every butt-wiping mommy and daddy is going to look at it and smirk. Perhaps they are embracing a truth-in-advertising approach.

Obama’s Bronco stadium acceptance speech both delights and worries me. I can see Howard’s hand all over this (he’s a pragmatic populist). Broaden, broaden, broaden the involvement of grassroots, let the sun shine in and all that — but (and this is always my concern) I worry about the security risk. My mother just despises him (thinks he’ll say anything to anyone to get elected) and offhandedly suggests that maybe if his VP is a good choice, she might vote for him on the off-chance that he’ll be shot. How many people are walking around convinced that he’ll be assassinated or worse, willing to do the deed?

The G-8 pledges emissions cuts by 2050? All of these fuckwits will be long dead in 42 years and if current projections hold, we’ll be out of petroleum. Astonishingly bad leadership but not surprising.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Barack Obama’s choice of venue for his Democratic nomination acceptance speech gives Bridgett the fear: Obama’s Bronco stadium acceptance speech both delights and worries me. I can see Howard’s hand all over this (he’s a pragmatic populist). Broaden, broaden, broaden the involvement of grassroots, let the sun shine in and all that — but (and this is always my concern) I worry about the security risk. My mother just despises him (thinks he’ll say anything to anyone to get elected) and offhandedly suggests that maybe if his VP is a good choice, she might vote for him on the off-chance that he’ll be shot. How many people are walking around convinced that he’ll be assassinated or worse, willing to do the deed? […]

Pingback by One Of The Reasons Jim Webb Might Have Been Considered A Bad Choice : Post Politics: Political News and Views in Tennessee

Cutting carbon emissions is like fixing Social Security – if you keep drawing plans out on a long enough timeline, it becomes someone else’s problem.

Like Keynes said; “In the ‘long run’ we’re all dead.”

Comment by Gerald

Bridgett:

Well, I would say you’re paranoid, except I know better and have the same sort of fears. If Obama were to pick a white, DINO I would get quite worried. If he picks someone like Dennis Kucinich, and wins, the nutjobs will be out there protecting him.

Comment by democommie

I’ve been worried about the security angle for a long time…and sad I won’t be able to get into the stadium *in my home town* (Yay Denver) to see him.

Comment by imfunny2




Leave a Reply

