My Beautiful Wickedness


Jesus is just alright with me…
July 2, 2008, 10:32 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Slarti, you will find this interesting, I think. Maybe something for the kids?

The rest of you go and read it too — it’s a good article written by a colleague of mine about Christian rewrites of secular pop music.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Wow – that’s pretty fascinatng. The group has some extremely clever rewrites – it’s very hard to get the meter just right; even Weird Al messes it up from time to time.

My specialialty, if you want to call it that, is leaving the original almost entirely intact, and having the listener reexamine the lyrics in a new, Christian way – either by reading a related bible verse before,after, or during the song, or changing a single word or phrase.

As much as I ridicule deconstructionism, that’s pretty much what I do. 🙂

Songs I have in the pipeline:

Spirits In The Material World – Police
Soak Up The “Son” – Sheryl Crow
Superstition – Stevie Wonder
It’s All Been Done – Barenaked Ladies (think Ecclesiastes)
Don’t Look Back – Boston
Hand Me Down World – Guess Who
Hold My Hand – Hootie
(I’ve Been) Searchin’ So Long – Chicago
Shed A Little Light – James Taylor
Fooling Yourself – Styx

And, believe it or not, Sister Christian (still working on the theme for that one).

By the way, my son’s favorite artist? Weird Al. Most of the songs, he doesn’t even know the original. Of course, I loved Al the first time around. It’s strange how life works that way.

Comment by Slartibartfast




Leave a Reply

