My Beautiful Wickedness


What are your favorite things to read aloud?
June 24, 2008, 9:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I do a lot of reading aloud. My daughter loves it when I read to her and so we read through all the Harry Potters, many of the US children’s classics (this week, we’re reading Tom Sawyer….we listened to an abridged Huck Finn when we were traveling, but I wasn’t really all that happy with it and so we’ll probably read that one aloud too), and tons of poetry.

What kind of books do you like to read aloud? Do you read aloud for the pleasure of it (to yourself), or to entertain others, or to puzzle through some difficult passages, or just to have the taste and length of the words in your mouth?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like to read “Bushisms”, I marvel at W’s commandedness of an english language (he speaks it like a nativist) and his glibidioty.

Comment by democommie

Poetry. Poetry wants and needs to be read aloud. Oddly, I don’t particularly enjoy recordings of poets reading their own works. I find their voices to be distractingly different from the way I have imagined them. Well, Dylan Thomas and Allen Ginsberg, but nobody else. I particularly love to read Auden aloud. He’s got such complex rhythms going on that you just don’t notice looking at a page.

Comment by nm

I read aloud to my three kids until the last one proclaimed himself too old to have Mom read to him. It’s been years since I’ve read aloud anything more than the incidental “hey, listen to this.”

Comment by listie

Hey, here’s an idear. I was thinking about doing some reading aloud to tape stories for the visually impaired and the blind. Turns out my cadence is a little too fast (it’s not the drugs, I swear!) but I think that is still a public service opportunity.

Comment by democommie




Leave a Reply

