My Beautiful Wickedness


Home and its thousand pleasures
June 17, 2008, 7:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

We got back late last night and this day was consumed in welcome work. There were clothes to be washed and hung on the line. There was a dryer to fix — heating elements are surprisingly testy to pull out, but the fault in this one was obvious (coil broken) and so we’re sure that we’re fixing the right thing, which is always a plus when tacking thorny problems. There was stuff to clean, meals to cook, groceries to buy, and math problems to shout out while we were racing around with our dustmops in the “clean the livingroom” game. (We all won.) Tomorrow, if the weather cooperates, I’ll get my baking done for the week.

Part of what I love about vacation is that it reminds me of how much I enjoy working around the house. All that doing nothing just about kills me.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Bridgett:

Grab up the fam and come visit me here on the pristine shores of Lake Ontario. I guarantee you will not die of laying around doing nothing! Oh, bring a shovel, steel-toed boots and a respirator!

Comment by democommie

I could sure use some help around here. I’m buried under piles of paper that need to be sorted, acted upon, thrown out, filed or completed. And that doesn’t even begin to address the notebooks that need to be transcribed. Or the research that needs to be completed asap.

Then there’s the packing up of the kitchen and dining room before they come to demo my kitchen. I can’t figure out why I feel compelled to clean the kitchen before it’s destroyed.

So, come on over Bridgett, we’ll do an archaeological dig in my house (I’m hoping to uncover the original kitchen fireplace this summer as well).

Comment by listie

listie:

If you put the papers IN the kitchen and let the contractors “demo” them as well as everything else it could be win-win!

Comment by democommie

Who knew I had a readership comprised entirely of Tom Sawyers? I have plenty of work of my own to do around here — today, my husband and I dropped some plumb lines for the installation of bookshelf supports and so I’m going to be vacuuming up plaster dust and doing some drilling later. Then the hallway’s got to be primed and painted and I’ve got crap to sort and throw away and picture frames to make and…oh yeah, a book to finish that I’m trying not to write at the moment. So today’s work is already well in progress.

I also clean like a crazy woman before I let the plumber into the bathroom.

Comment by bridgett

Bridgett:

If I had all of your energy, I wouldn’t need mine! I did get a clearance from the surgeon’s nurse today to go back to being an idiot.

Comment by democommie




Leave a Reply

