My Beautiful Wickedness


The time I like best…
June 1, 2008, 3:17 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Usually, on Sunday nights I have to run around trying to finish up all those things that need doing before the week starts. Kid needs a costume made? Sunday night. Mending that has to get finished? Sunday night. Final load of laundry so that all my husband’s work shirts are clean or ironing to be done? Sunday night. That’s when I figure out how much bread we have and whether I need to get up early to make more, when I make plans for baking lunch treats (cookies, usually, since cupcakes don’t pack so well), when I sign permission slips and draw up some menus for the next few days. It’s the time that I sit down with the calendar and get straight in my mind the various rehearsals and performances and school obligations and playdates and birthday parties that I’m going to be running to and from.

But sometime in late May…

I get my Sunday night back. I still do some looking ahead, but there’s not this great sense that if I don’t get it all done, my whole household is going to be bumping along like a tincan dragging behind a Model T for the rest of the week. I’ll be home on Monday. And Tuesday. And indeed, every day, all day, making iced tea and sewing up sundresses and listening to folk music on the radio.

Ahhhhh.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I am jealous! I won’t have that kind of Sunday night until the 2nd Sunday in July.

Comment by Angela Gordon




Leave a Reply

