My Beautiful Wickedness


Where I’ve been
May 15, 2008, 6:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

After I got done with my Spring semester grading and turned in final grades, I started immediately on my Summer intensive course. I teach three and half hours a day — about a week and a half of material presented, discussed, and digested every day. It’s a huge amount of class prep every day and I come home both exhausted and thrilled beyond measure with this class. I’ve got five students, none of whom are history majors, but all of whom have been motivated enough to come to class every day well-prepared and ready to talk. It’s been a delight to have kids who are actually interested in the subject matter.

Small class sizes, they are da bomb. I’m able to do all sorts of neat document exercises with them, customize the class so that I can cater to their interests (the art major is getting more visuals out of me, for the business major I talked about the speculation craze of the early 18th century and the South Seas Bubble…), and I can be constantly in the teaching feedback loop. I am really looking forward to seeing what they come up with on their first exam on Monday.

Be that as it may, I have a lot to do tomorrow on my “off” day. I haven’t baked and we’re out of bread; my housework has piled up and my laundry is going to walk off by itself if I don’t get on it. I need to finish up my quilt top so that I can have it ready to take down to Mom’s when I go next month. I’ve got some more fence to set. And then there’s the article I am trying to write. Clearly it won’t all get done tomorrow, but I can make some progress and it will be fun not to have to put
on high heels and walk to work.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

