My Beautiful Wickedness


Women remaking the world
April 29, 2008, 12:26 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Attention fiber-arts folks, upstate NY peeps, and assorted others who like protest art — yeah, I think I’ve covered pretty much all my readers. (This is funded by a donor in Somerville, TN…0keedoke, now I really have everyone…)

Get a load of this!!! The International Fiber Collective has quilted an abandoned gas station to develop a critique and international conversation about global oil dependency. It’s a pretty amazing sight.

If you’re in the Syracuse area, here’s the street address to go see this for yourself:
Dewit’s Gas Station
2301 E Colvin St
Syracuse, NY 13224

The reception is on May 3, 5 pm to 8 pm, with live music and bbq. I’ll stop by and see it when I’m in town in early June and get some pictures of it for you guys.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wait… what? *goes to look*

Wow, that’s really cool. I can’t quilt worth a damn, unfortunately. I’m a fair hand at crochet when I put my mind to it (which, alas, isn’t all that often), and I can knit a straight line if I have to, but that’s about it.

Comment by Magniloquence

That’s nifty….

Comment by imfunny2




Leave a Reply

