My Beautiful Wickedness


All in a day.
April 27, 2008, 9:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was getting ready for bed and thinking back over the day’s doings and thought that I live a funny kind of life.

In the course of a day, I fixed some fried potatoes, dug a couple of holes with a posthole digger and set some fenceposts with quikcrete, did my kid’s hair, graded some papers, watched about half of an opera on PBS, realized that Talledega was on and so switched over to watch the rest of that, channel flipped to catch the end of the rebroadcast of Ali-Shavers (which I had watched the first go-round in 1977), cleaned the grill and grilled some pork chops, supervised a dance practice, read some linguistics blogs, and then wrote some more in this administrative policy handbook I’m developing. To finish it all off, I watched a locally produced half-hour show on dirt track racing.

I have unusual habits, to say the least.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Heck, I think it just means you’re well rounded.

Comment by Krista

I would like to clarify that I don’t want NASCAR because of my interest in racing. Hell, most of the time, I’m not even watching the race. I listen to it because it’s the two hours a week on my network-only TV that I can hear the accents and cadences of southern speech.

Comment by bridgett

Bridgett:

I got worn out just reading your list. I’m reassembling my house and I keep finding new and infuriating “challenges”. I spent the better part of the day, today, scratching my head and trying to figure out how to bring the parabola in the center of the house back to being flat and level–by dead reckoning, as I don’t do “math” any tougher than long division (one of my three pain-in-the-ass learning disabilities). But it sounds like you just glide from one thing to the next.

Comment by democommie

My house is just shy of 100 years old, so we don’t have to work around some of the freaky design mods that came with the building style transitions of the 1860s and 1870s and we also don’t have the “chintzy piece of crap that was built with poor materials and now I have to work around a history of shoddy craftsmanship” that I see happening with my friends with post-1970s homes. If I had a really old house, I would be more worried about preservation issues; right now, though, I try to use the appropriate materials from the His Pres warehouse when I can and use good quality lumber for the rest. I’m not wild about the fence I just hung (white resin, yuck), but our wonderful neighbor who is getting on in years chose it for our mutual fenceline and she really isn’t in the shape to do fence repair, so I understand why she wanted something white pickety that she won’t have to worry about painting.

Everything in my house is pretty much reaching the end of its anticipated design life, so the next few years should be bumpy in terms of major replacements like roof, furnace, etc. It helps that my husband has a good head on his shoulders about home repairs and so together we can sort out what we can do, what we can’t do without some hired help, and what doesn’t really need to be done right now.

Comment by bridgett

Bridgett:

My house has three different styles of framing (plank wall, post and beam and balloon) which is a little puzzling since the foundation indicates that it was built in one go. I’m basically rebuilding it from the inside. There is nothing (except a few doors and the hinges and escutcheons on the rest of the doors) that is worth salvaging. Fortunately the person who I bought it from had mostly gutted it and put in replacement windows (vinyl–ugly, but serviceable) and a new roof (including OSB underlayment on top of the original board sheathing).

I’m changing the entire floor plan and replacing all of the staircases anyway. It will look pretty much the same on the outside, but not on the inside. If it ever gets done I’ll have lots of photos.

Comment by democommie

How old is your house? I’ve got a friend whose immediate post-Civil War house also features that kind of variety pack. He did some research and found that his house was originally a house/livery/wagon and harness repair shop. Each of the various parts had a different kind of wall construction (post and beam was the livery, plank wall the part built by a passing Canadian housebuilding crew that served as the shop, the balloon frame ordered and brought in by rail) though they share a foundational footprint.

Or maybe it was built by weekend drunks like everything else in our beautiful upstate region!

Comment by bridgett

Bridgett:

I think the latter. I just spent the day with a 6 ton and a pair of 20 ton hydraulic jacks and a bunch of posts and wedges, carefully jacking the beams in the beams in the cellar to see if I can get most of the wow out of the floors. I think the house was built by a couple of different crews and it looks like they used both new (at the time) and reclaimed lumber.

The house was 3/4’s gutted when I bought it and although the previous owner was in love with the old trims they’re all gone. They were just too barked up to salvage.

I saw your post up above on the fiber art, I have to go to Syracuse on 5/1 to see an orthopod about my new but if I get caught up I may go back down on the 3rd to see what’s what. I don’t know how close you are, but the “third thursday” thing can be fun. I want to get down to Binghamton for one of their “First Fridays” and, of course, the Farmer’s Market in Ithaca.

Comment by democommie

Syracuse is just far enough away for me to think of it as a trip rather than a drive, I live in Albany improper, doing some urban homesteading.

Comment by bridgett




Leave a Reply

