My Beautiful Wickedness


Just for Slarti…
April 18, 2008, 10:05 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

No, really…my Kid and I really have been singing this this morning as we clean the house:

Come my little friends
As we all sing a happy little working song
Merry little voices clear and strong
Come and roll your sleeves up
So that we can pitch in
Cleaning crud up in the kitchen
As we sing along

And you’ll trill a cheery tune in the tub
As we scrub a stubborn mildew stain
Lug a hairball from the shower drain
To the gay refrain
Of a happy working song

We’ll keep singing without fail
Otherwise we’d spoil it
Hosing down the garbage pail
And scrubbing up the toilet
Ooh!

How we all enjoy letting loose with a little
La-da-da-dum-dum
While we’re emptying the vacu-um
It’s such fun to hum
A happy working song
Oo-ooh
A happy working song

Oh, how strange a place to be
Till Edward comes for me
My heart is sighing
Still, as long as I am here
I guess a new experience
Could be worth trying
Hey! Keep drying!

You could do a lot when you got
Such a happy little tune to hum
While you’re sponging up the soapy scum
We adore each filthy chore
That we determine
So friends even though you’re vermin
We’re a happy working song

Singing as we fetch the detergent box
Or the smelly shirts and the stinky socks
Sing along
If you cannot sing then hum along
As we’re finishing our happy working song!

Ah…wasn’t this fun?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I did think that song was brilliant. Irony is best served with a smile.

My wife and I think “How Will I Know” might possibly be the best musical number put on film since the 50’s. (Don’t get me started on “Fame” or “Chorus Line”. They took themselves far too seriously)

It’s amazing how I’ve gotten under the skin of so many people who I DIDN’T have in mind. I don’t know if it’s good writing or bad when every person who reads it thinks you are talking about them, personally. Probably both, since that wasn’t my intention.

And so many people are assuming things about me that are simply untrue. But that’s OK – my life has been filled with more tragedy than most Americans will ever see, yet most folks think I’m a pampered pollyanna.

That tells me I’ve become a pretty good writer. 🙂

Thanks for the song – I love it!

Comment by Slartibartfast

I think it means that you’re poking us somewhere that it hurts. Or that you’re posing a question worth thinking about to a bunch of people who regularly engage in self-scrutiny. Or both.

Anyhow, I suspect that my Schleprock Quotient is pretty high, but on the other hand, I’m an upbeat person in person.

And yes, you’re a very good writer.

“How Will I Know” is in my head like a titanium screw. We are all about Enchanted around here — was one of Kid’s Easter presents.

Comment by bridgett

Is there a tune to go with this song? I’d love to sing to torture a 15 yo as we do our chores.

Comment by patti

You can watch the clip from the movie here:

Caution: it’s a real ear-worm (comes from a movie that does its best to parody with sympathy all the old Disney classics, so it’s got a lot of sunny sprightly intervals and octave jumps right where you’d expect them to be). You’ll catch the tune and then it will catch you for the next two weeks.

Comment by bridgett

Heh….Cute….

Comment by imfunny2




Leave a Reply

