My Beautiful Wickedness


All that doing…
April 16, 2008, 11:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

has revved me up so much that I really can’t sleep. It’s 1 am and I’m still rattling around the house, doing paperwork, cleaning the dishes, confounding the cat (not that it’s all that hard to confound something with a brain the size of a walnut).

I’m in one of those perserverating kinds of minds, where I rehearse what was said to me in an adversarial meeting over and over. Even though I came out of the whole thing better than ok — I moved the piece of tricky legislation through to the next step and represented my department capably — still, I just don’t seem to be able to let go of the tense interchanges where another colleague tried to bluster me by being loud and aggressive.

I knew the meeting was going to be like that, too, so I dreaded it all day. I had such a huge migraine headache by 11 am that I thought I was going to throw up. Unfortunately, I had a train of meetings where I just had to sit feeling queasy and head a-throb until we got to the one that I knew would be a real pain in the ass.

Sleep is usually what I use to help me hit the reset button on my head, but it doesn’t seem to be coming tonight. What non-pharmaceutical means do you use at such times to quiet the monkey mind?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If there are a lot of things I need to get done, I just have one monkey replace the annoying one: can’t sleep? mentally outline next paper, or figure out how to get as many tomatoes as I want into limited garden space. For me, giving myself a mental task that can be completed is a big help. It pushes me out of the wheel-spinning rut, and generally once I have made good progress on it I do fall asleep. But I need to be physically relaxed for it to work, so taking a shower or doing some deep breathing can help, too.

Comment by nm

I have a DVD of Beverly Hill Billy reruns. Works every time.

Comment by patti




Leave a Reply

