My Beautiful Wickedness


Torn. So very torn.
February 26, 2008, 10:29 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Do I want it to snow a lot?

On the pro side, I would be relieved if class had to be cancelled tonight. I’m behind on my class prep for tonight’s grad class. (To wit, stack of grading that hasn’t been done…natives getting restless, rightly…)  I’ve read the book and I think it’s going to be a tough one to talk about — now I wonder why I thought it was a good idea to have them discuss Kingdom of Matthias for the full 2.5 hours.  Ordinarily, I’d write a lecture to frame the book and talk about trends in the study of American religious history (and spare us the flailing of trying to fill up a class when there’s really only about an hour and fifteen worth of conversation to be had), but that’s not going to happen today. So yes, let it snow, let it snow, let it snow. That would make a jampacked class next time, but in some ways, pairing books works out better at the grad level. It also has to be said that I’m teaching social studies teacher who are themselves worn out by their engagements in their own classrooms. Sometimes I think they do a touchdown dance when their grad classes are cancelled (even though it makes me feel like a super-slacker not to convene).

On the con side, tomorrow is an undergrad midterm. I’ve got the midterm all copied and the bluebooks stuffed. I’ve prepped them and held extra office hours. They are ready to take the test. Next week is our “spring break” and so if we cancel out on this midterm, they won’t be able to take the test until March 10th.So, hell no, we can’t miss that class.

Worst case? Class will run tonight (and go like crap) and then school will be closed tomorrow. Better get to grading now.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

