My Beautiful Wickedness


Getting funny looks
December 1, 2007, 1:04 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I realized that there are two reasons that my friend gave me a funny look when I reacted to the news that there’s a big snowstorm coming that might give us a snow day on Monday.

1) I don’t want school to be cancelled….
2) because I’m starting the Civil War.

I have to remember that the second part of that sentence sounds crazily weird to non-historians. However, our survey only goes to 1865 and I really have to have four full days at the least to make sense out of the war. At some point, I’m going to have to break down and offer a topical readings class on Civil War and Reconstruction like I do on the American Revolution and Early Republic, but so far, I’ve been resisting doing so because we really could use another US historian to teach all the sections of US survey and as long as I’m willing to way overload, they’ll happily overwork me instead of running a search.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

