My Beautiful Wickedness


Not easily impressed by minor celebrity
November 7, 2007, 9:43 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was watching the CMAs with Kid tonight and as they’d pan across the audience I’d say “hey, you’re related to
him,” “hey, she’s married to my second cousin,” and so on. Kid though that was pretty cool…but then I had to explain to her that this kind of comes with the territory of coming from the Redbud Highway (Rt. 23), having huge families on both sides that have lived in Kentucky since the early 19th century (thus being related to Daniel Boone like everyone else in Kentucky), and having a lot of family that made their living in music. And besides, nobody in her Montessori class is going to know who Jerry Douglas is anyhow.

“Mommy, am I going to be a picker?” “I don’t know, sugar. My guitar’s over in the corner. If you want to, why don’t you fool with it some and I’ll show you some chords and you can toughen up your fingers and see if you like it.”

So, I started her off with a G. My guitar sounds like a punkin; I haven’t put new strings on it in a coon’s age. Still, she hit the first big downstrum and she broke into a big smile. Tomorrow I’ll teach her a D. With a chord a day, she will be able to play some simple songs by next week.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You mean Rascall Flatts might actually have a purpose in the universe? I would feel so much better about their existence if looking at the audience instead of at them led a child to music.

Comment by nm

Use terms like “crawdadding” and “a coon’s age”, and I think your mountain-ancestry might show through.

Try not to wear overalls to work.

Comment by Exador

The guys from Rascal Flatts are from Columbus, Ohio and Oklahoma — no kin there yet, mercifully, but it’s just a matter of time until one of them remarries a shirttail relation…

Exador, eram quod es; assiduus usus uni rei deditus et ingenium et artem saepe vincit, buddy. But as far as I know, I’m not related to either Cicero or Horace.

Comment by bridgett

Wow, I knew you were old, but I didn’t know you were THAT old!

Comment by Exador

Not ancient, just old skool.

Comment by bridgett




Leave a Reply

