My Beautiful Wickedness


I’m thinking of renaming my site “My Beautiful Tiredness”
October 25, 2007, 2:43 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I finally just broke down and took a day where I cancelled all appointments and stayed home to work. And work. And work. I’ve graded five paper sets since I started and I have a goal of doing at least four more before I go to bed. Having this much unevaluated student work is bad for everyone’s morale and they need to have frequent feedback from me whether or not I really have time to give it to them. Lead from the front, though.

I also had a teacher’s conference about Kid’s work today. It’s always fun to go to her conferences because the teachers like and understand her well. She’s in third grade, but she’s already doing fractions, long division, and some intro geometric proofs — with good comprehension (so good that she’s re-teaching me what I had forgotten). Her reading and writing skills are way beyond age level. Social skills? Good. Cooperation and diligence, self-direction, compassion, generosity, respect for multiple points of view, problem-solving…all good. Imaginative, good at sports, inclusive in her social networking, able to laugh, resilient when things go wrong? Check. So far, so good. I just couldn’t be more proud of her. She’s really a wonderful kid.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congratulations to you and Kid; she sounds delightful.

I hope you’re able to get some rest this weekend. It sounds as if you’re close to maximum overload.

Comment by listie

I’m glad you took a day when needed.

Comment by imfunny2




Leave a Reply

