My Beautiful Wickedness


If anyone’s still looking for first day of school reading aloud books?
September 4, 2007, 12:57 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I suggest “Wemberley Worried” by Kevin Henkes. It’s all about this nervous little girl and her
first day of school, in which she make a friend. Great characters, something the kids can identify
with…

Better for kids under 7.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I just got tagged by another meme which I enjoyed, so I thought you might like to participate.

Find it here: http://virtualbourgeois.wordpress.com/2007/09/04/morgans-meme/

Comment by Gerald

We love all the Kevin Henkes books around here. Recited parts of “Julius the Baby of the World” to our son when he was still in the NICU. He’s got a couple others about starting school: “Jessica” (about having an imaginary friend, then making a “real” friend), and “Chrysanthemum” (in which the title character loves her name, until she gets to school and finds out it’s longer and more unusual than most kids’ names; then her teacher reveals her own long, unusual first name!).

Comment by Penny

We love all the Kevin Henkes books here. “Chrysthanthemum, Chrysthanthemum, Chrysthanthemum.” We particularly like anything that Lily is in, and I think that “Julius is the Baby of the World” might be our favorite of all of them.

I only have one kid and I admit that I like picture books so much that I’m thinking of volunteering at the local library as a “story lady” since my own kid is now Harry Potter and beyond in her reading taste.

Comment by bridgett




Leave a Reply

