My Beautiful Wickedness


Another reason to love Iowa…
August 31, 2007, 3:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Iowa is easily the best place I’ve ever lived. I’d move back in a half a heartbeat if my partner and I could get a job in our fields.

Here’s another reason why.

I’m not saying everyone in Iowa loves gay people. They might be personally uncomfortable with gay marriage as a practice or feel kind of squirmy about men kissing one another or women having sex with each other. However, it’s also a mind your own business kind of a place. A do what is right kind of a place. A state that would have a state Constititution committed to human rights and elect jurists who would interpret that Constitution inclusively. The people are, as a whole, honest, fair-minded, and decent.

I predict that the bulk of Iowans will not have a cow and that even conservative Iowans will wheel as one on any outsider political group that tries to make hay on this. (The overwhelmingly negative reaction to the Dean Storm, where people carpetbagged in during the last election, illustrates that Iowans really really really don’t like to be told what they should think…even if they sort of already think it.)

Edited to add:

But then again, you never know. I could be wrong.

It turns out that I think I know some of the principal litigants in this case…interesting.

Here’s some more reaction from Iowans. I know many of the people quoted from Iowa City, as they were members of my church. While I sometimes get grumpy with the UUs as a whole, this is an issue on which they are absolutely right.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

“we can be cold as a falling thermometer in December if you ask about our weather in July.
And we’re so by-god stubborn we could stand touchin’ noses for a week at a time and never see eye to eye.

But we’ll give you our shirt
And the back to go with it
If your well just happens to run dry.

You really ought to give Iowa a try.”

Sorry…I can’t think of Iowa without singing that whole song in my head.

Comment by Katherine Coble




Leave a comment