My Beautiful Wickedness


When is a horse is not a horse? When it’s a full-time job.
August 30, 2007, 2:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This has been a really bad day. Really bad. Not a “wow, someone I love has died” day, but only a small step up from that. A day in which I’ve concluded that it might be necessary to my psychic survival to leave my current “stable” because my stable has a few bitter, unhappy, passive-aggressive riders that appear to be actively trying to kill my horse for reasons unknown and previously unsuspected. The good news is that the horse-killers are not succeeding and by tipping their hand a little too early are winding up looking like big poopy-buttheads, giving people who want me to keep riding my horse for a very long time the opportunity to do damage control. The bad news is that my back is full of knives and I feel stupid and hurt for leaving myself and my family vulnerable. I’m sure that all will be well in the end. It’s going to turn out that I can stay. I just don’t know if I want to and it’s threatening to ruin the pleasure I’ve been taking in my stable.

Mean people suck. In the world of academia, never confuse intelligence with honesty and decency, that’s all I’m saying.

Oh yeah. And Boston lost, too.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m sorry. Unfortunately these sorts of people seem to be everywhere. Some of my new colleagues have been discovering one very political animal at our shop. I wonder if academia is worse about attracting these sorts of weasels (sorry, real weasels.)

Comment by Gerald

Girl, if I didn’t know you hated the phone I’d call you.

Email cometh forthwith…

Comment by imfunny2

Yes, the only thing that would make the day worse would be a prolonged phone conversation. I’ll write you.

Comment by bridgett

In academia or anywhere else. I’m sorry you’re having the trouble.

Comment by nm




Leave a Reply

