My Beautiful Wickedness


Have you ever been to a good motivational speaker?
August 11, 2007, 7:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Gerald had a disappointing experience at his job’s opening session and I’ve wasted more time than I can remember listening to windbags on this or that subject telling me that everything that was wrong with my job was actually something wrong with me. There’s usually some bad jokes, some pop psychologizing, a copyrighted “system” with a book that can be bought at the table in the rear of the room, some fake “dialogue” (where there’s only one right answer that can be given and some poor sucker has to pretend to play along so as not to embarass whichever senior administrator thought this would be a good idea…), and a ton of assumptions about the audience and cheap stereotypes that just put most people off.

I have never gone to one of these speakers (either involuntarily or in a willing way) that’s ever been even mildly transformative or worth the time. It’s making me cynical about the form. So I’m asking you, my vastly more experienced audience, is there someone out there who has a dog and pony show worth seeing?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Not to come off like a pessimist or anything….

I’ve been dragged to a few of these and found the ‘quasi therapy’ slant of them to be insulting to ones value or intellect.

“I’m conviced that life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it…”

Derisive snort.

Comment by imfunny2




Leave a Reply

