My Beautiful Wickedness


A new book of interest to disability historians, theorists, and activists
August 8, 2007, 10:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I usually hate books with “The Crisis of ” in the title, but I’ll make an exception for Ato Quayson’s Aesthetic Nervousness: Disability and the Crisis of Representation. I love this book because he not only walks the interdisciplinary walk (many scholars say they are interdisciplinary, but most simply take the tools of one discipline and apply them to the texts of another), but talks the transnational talk. I have long waited for books like this, ones that connected the bodily experience of disability to the cultural representation of the disabled in a variety of socio-cultural frameworks. And THANK GOD! THANK GOD! he knows that a variety of African literatures exist and does something with them. This seems to me to be worth the price of admission by itself.

Anyhow, here’s the info.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Ooooh. I like. Maybe I can use it to help flesh out the stuff from my recent post on the way my job treats cognitively impaired employees.

Anything that can truly be said to be interdisciplinary has my vote.

Comment by magniloquence




Leave a Reply

