My Beautiful Wickedness


Last Night’s Viewing
August 6, 2007, 7:52 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

We watched The Matador. I’m about a decade behind in viewing movies, so yeah, I know that almost everyone in the world has seen it already. If you haven’t, however, it’s worth 1:37 of your time. Pierce Brosnan plays an amoral hitman who is struggling (but not too hard) to find a moral center; Greg Kinnear plays a straight-arrow businessman who is trying to get his career and his life back on track. Their unlikely friendship at a time when both are going through somewhat of a mid-life crisis is at the heart of this darkly comic movie. It’s not the sort of movie I’d ordinarily go for (not much on the “killing people and blowing things up” movies), but the assassin’s profession is less important than the two main characters’ development as people. I think the movie has a lot to say about masculinity, male friendship, and doing what is right. I’ve never really liked Greg Kinnear (I sort of think of him as the guy they cast when they wanted either Rick Moranis or William G. Macy), but he surprised me. Brosnan, too, showed me a depth that I didn’t know he had.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I didn’t like this as much as I had hoped, and for that I entirely blame Greg Kinnear. ;-p

Comment by Katherine Coble

I was also very impressed by Brosnan in this film. Have you seen “The Tailor of Panama”? I was reminded of his performance in that film when I saw “The Matador.”

Comment by Gerald

Am I the only one who thought it might have been more satisfying (in a cynical way) if Brosnan had ended up by killing Kinnear and taking over his life?

Comment by nm

But the extended “let me show you how I would kill someone at the bullfight, if I were going to kill someone at the bullfight” sequence is a thing of genius.

Comment by nm

I actually thought, at one point, that that’s what was going to happen. And I also thought that perhaps Hope Davis would be the person with the steel to be Julian’s accomplice for the last hit. That’s one reason that I thought it was a good piece of writing — Julian’s character was so well-done that one could see a multitude of interesting possibilities, which made it less predictable to watch.

Comment by bridgett

Am I the only one who thought it might have been more satisfying (in a cynical way) if Brosnan had ended up by killing Kinnear and taking over his life?

There were many moments when I found myself praying for that outcome.

I was also very impressed by Brosnan in this film. Have you seen “The Tailor of Panama”?

Loved, loved, loved TOP. I still think that’s Brosnan’s best work.

Comment by Katherine Coble

I’ve not seen it but after this review I’ll put it on my list…

Comment by imfunny2




Leave a Reply

