My Beautiful Wickedness


My sewer fu is weak.
July 20, 2007, 8:50 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

We’ve done everything we can think and it’s still backed up. Plumber it is. Dammit.

So here I am. I’m 42 and 11 years married, still facing the prospect of having to call my widowed mom and ask for a loan. I mean, on the one hand, it’s great that I have that back-up, that she would give unstintingly and without thinking twice, and that she’s materially comfortable enough that she could do so without hardship. But I really really really want to take care of it ourselves. We’re both working. We’re both working side projects to make some extra money on top of our regular employment. But we just have no fallback money when something goes wrong, and when you own a house, something is always going wrong. These are the times when I sort of mumble to myself “well, at least we have health insurance…not that we have time to use it…”

The economic kicker? I started up the car today and it sounds like we’re going to need a new fanbelt, though I’m hoping it was squealing because it was wet. I *can* do that job, but I really hate working on the car so I have been taking it in to the garage…looks like I’ll have to get over myself, because a trip to the garage just can’t be paid for at the moment.

EDITED TO ADD: YAY! The plumber has triumphed over the evils of the backed-up main sewer drain AND flushed the whole back-up reservoir with clear water and has given us good advice for recognizing and remedying future problems before they get so bad, and he’s done all this for just under $100. If it is actually fixed, I’ll be doing a very happy dance.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hear ya. I’m at an advantage in a way, because I absolutely suck with hammer and saw, and I’ve known it my entire life. So, I have to have a line item in my budget for professionals to come out and fix stuff that I cannot. I have no choice.

Because I know it WILL happen, I can plan.

I think that half the trick of life is learning what you suck at, and finding out ways to fill those gaps. It’s still very expensive, but if you know it’s coming, you can put away $50 a month between disasters, and that usually covers things.

Comment by Slartibartfast

Oh, I’m so glad for you.

Comment by nm

I’m so pleased… Having to handle all the maintenance oneself just sounds like an endless drag on the rest of your life…

I’m still working on a 1500 car bill from January…and that’s the *last* car bill of that size I’m going to incur half of before the car goes to that great car lot in the sky….

Comment by imfunny2




Leave a Reply

