My Beautiful Wickedness


If you’re in the Northeast US and want to hear me on the radio…
June 29, 2007, 1:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m going to be talking about Independence Day on WGY 810 (a 50k watt Clear Channel station that broadcasts mostly right-wing talk radio garbage from Schenectady to Chicago, etc)…the program time is 11 pm EST, Sunday July 1. I plan to write up most of what I said — greatly expanded — as my ongoing “hey, why should anyone have to pay for the educational cow when there are people around like me who are willing to give the milk away free?” program of public outreach.

I think they probably also have it as a podcast. I’ll see if I can dig it up. Anyway, the interviewer didn’t ask any crazy questions and he didn’t sandbag me, so this was pretty much as good as could be hoped.

Edited to add:

Well, on reflection…it was just ok. He really wanted to keep me focused on what was happening in Philadelphia (you know, the white guys)…so we never got to what I think is really the more important question of “what did people subsequently use the Declaration for?” The trail from the Declaration to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights is well worth talking about and I’d bet his listeners never have thought much about how a document could be so ambiguous as to support both the liberatory urgent rhetoric of Frederick Douglass’s “What, to the slave, is the 4th of July?” speech of 1852 and the racist wrongheadedness of the Declarations of Secession of SC, MS, GA, and Texas in 1860. I also failed to mess up Mark’s Law of the Dream, as I did not take the opportunity to refer to the document as “a promissory note to which every American was to fall heir.” After all, I was broadcasting on one of the most conservative stations in the Northeast and I think I could have made the guy spit his coffee by invoking King when it wasn’t MLK Day.

Oh well, maybe next time. I just hope he doesn’t edit out my thing about the flag and the Sons of Liberty…

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I have a very curious nature, and I have a nagging history question today, a question about women in the revolutionary era. Why were there way more prostitutes in colonial America than today? From everything I’ve read, they were ubiquitous back then (like in some towns, the vast majority of women). Are we actually way more puritanical now than we were then?

Comment by Nick Dupree




Leave a Reply

