My Beautiful Wickedness


An unintentional walk
June 14, 2007, 7:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I saw a bird I never saw before down here. Its lower mandible was longer than the upper and it scooped along the waterline, letting the water run in until it felt a fish and then snap, down it came. It was black and sleek, with white trim, reminiscent of a cross between a tuxedo and a fast plane. It was huge (much bigger than the willetts or the pipers or terns), yet it seemed like no one else but me noticed it. I didn’t mean to take a walk today, but I wound up following it for about a mile as it darted and played and ate.

Here’s what I saw. The picture doesn’t really capture the aerodynamic coolness of the body shape, though. It looked like a Japanese crane drawing in its line.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

