My Beautiful Wickedness


Get Your Tambourine Going
June 1, 2007, 12:21 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

On the to-do list for this week, I have to come up with a couple of suggestions for a clean-lyric old-school hip hop song appropriate for a routine by 9-year-olds.

So far, I have DMC’s “Tricky” and Cool J’s “Mamma Said You Knock You Out” because I could see costuming and choreography potential there. Nothing by MC Lyte passes the lyrical cleanliness test. I would be totally fine with Queen Latifah’s U.N.I.T.Y., but the dance teacher and the Formers would freak. Queen/Monie doing “Ladies First” is maybe
about 20 bpm too fast and I don’t know how it would sound slowed down to the speed where they could actually work it.

Any suggestions?

I’ve been dancing around to this track by Eve (totally inappropriate for a kid, but man, love the roll of this song):

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

