My Beautiful Wickedness


Beautiful Day.
May 24, 2007, 8:45 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I finally got to sleep around 3 am and my daughter woke me up at 6:15 wanting to know how to spell “presentation.” And 6:18, wanting to know how to spell “creature.” And 6:19, wanting to know if “mustard” was spelled with an a or an e. And 6:23, wanting to know if there was another word for crenellations that was shorter. (Her sand pail has crenellations molded into it, so she learned this word recently. I’m guessing she didn’t leave quite enough room at the end of the line.) This must be some doozy of a story…I’ll only get to read it after it is drafted, proofed, and revised. I don’t think other second-graders do this.

Anyhow, between that and plungering the gummed-up toilet (hey, I’m turning into my dad and yelling at my daughter for using too damn much toilet paper), there didn’t seem much point in trying to doze off. So now my brain is vegemite and unsuitable for academic uses and my bedroom is flooded with sunshine, so napping isn’t an option. It’s gorgeous outside. I think I’m going to go outside and putter around in my flower garden and try not to pull up any good stuff by mistake.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I remember those days – a thousand questions before 7am. Now I’m lucky if I see my kids before noon.

I hope you enjoyed your gardening. I can’t wait to get home this weekend, so I can plant some more stuff.

Comment by listmaker

As you may remember….I shudder at the thought of having to do anything requiring patience,stamina,logic and a sense of humor on less than 7 hours of sleep…

It boggles my brain how much activity parents find they are able to squeeze in in a single day…

Comment by imfunny2




Leave a Reply

