My Beautiful Wickedness


Taking the weekend off
April 27, 2007, 7:52 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

As much as I hate to admit it, there are times when one needs to put down the laptop and slowly back away from the digital age. It’s no secret to anyone who knows me (or even “knows” me through the magic of the Intertubes) that I use digital media as a compensatory mechanism. It proves to me that I don’t have writer’s block while I work on slowly finishing my book. It eases my social isolation in a town I don’t really like and gives me a group of bloggy-buddies with whom I can correspond. It gives me a forum for blowing off steam or thinking small thoughts or making observations and I can see what others think. But sometimes it’s just not the same as (and even gets in the way of) having less textual relationships. So this weekend I’m turning off the computer and seeing what the world holds for me, even if the site of my explorations is one of these regional dance competitions with the thumping music, rhinestones, and hair spray.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

