My Beautiful Wickedness


Sunshine Superman
April 21, 2007, 5:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am Hawkman. When the sun doesn’t shine, I am useless. Two weeks of rain makes me want to hang myself. Between the rain, the bad college-related news, the end-of-the-semester blues among my students, the cold weather, a temp cash flow shortage between Tax Day and Payday…all of this combined to make me just shy of nonfunctional earlier this week. We’ve had two days of bright blue skies, puffy white clouds, strong sunshine, and soft winds. The temps are in the low 70s. It is as though my brain has rebooted. Flowers are blooming in my back yard! My kid can play outdoors with all the other kids! I sat on the steps of my back porch and drank a beer, letting the sun shine on my bare feet and the wind tickle my toes.

I am really not hard to please. I just need a little solar power and warm weather. I believe that if I lived somewhere where the weather was a little more clement, I would be a hell of a lot happier.

Yeah yeah. Bloom where you’re planted. But what if the growing season is just too short?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

